EURO 2008 – Switzerland/Austria

Just for the record

The website.
The History.
The Teams.
The Tournament and Results.

The Mascots (pic adapted from Euro08 website)

The Heny Delauney Trophy

The new UEFA European Championship trophy is 18cm higher and 2kg heavier than the original designed by Arthus Bertrand in 1960 and named after Henri Delaunay, the former president of the French Football Federation. The upper part of the trophy is based on the original and is also made out of sterling silver. The new trophy, created by Asprey London, has retained its historical name. It has been brought up to date to reflect the scale and size of Europe’s most prestigious international tournament. – From eufa website. Read more HERE.

Who is Henry Delauney?

Born in Paris on 19 November 1883, Delaunay was chosen in 1906 – at the age of 23 – as general secretary of the newly-founded French Interfederal Committee, which became the French Football Federation in 1919. Delaunay was an undisputed football expert. He was a referee, and began his international career in 1920 when FIFA asked him to sit on its new consultative committee for the Laws of the Game. Read more HERE.

The Champions

1960 USSR bt Yugoslavia 2-1 in France
1964 Spain bt USSR 2-1 in Italy
1968 Italy bt Yugoslavia 1-1 (Replay 2-0) in Italy
1972 West Germany bt USSR in Belgium
1976 Czechoslovakia bt West Germany 2-2 (Penalty 5-3) in Yugoslavia
1980 West Germany bt Belgium 2-1 in Italy
1984 France bt Spain 2-0 in France
1988 Netherlands bt USSR 2-0 in Germany
1992 Denmark bt Germany 2-0 in Sweden
1996 Germany bt Czech Rep 2-1 in England
2000 France bt Italy 2-1 in Netherlands/Belgium
2004 Greece bt Portugal 1-0 in Portugal
2008 ?

Golden boots Winner

2004 – Milan Baros CZE 5 goals
2000 – Patrick Kluivert NED 5 goals
2000 – Savo Milosevic YUG 5 goals
1996 – Shearer ENG 5 goals
1992 – Henrik Larsen DEN 3 goals
1992 – Karl-Heinz Riedle GER 3 goals
1992 – Dennis Bergkamp NED 3 goals
1992 – Thomas Brolin SWE 3 goals
1988 – Van Basten NED 5 goals
1984 – Michel Platini FRA 9 goals
1980 – Klaus allofs GER 4 goals
1976 – Gerd Muller GER 4 goals
1972 – Gerd Muller GER 4 goals
1968 – Dragan Dzajic YUG 2 goals
1964 – Jesus Maria Pereda SPA 2 goals
1964 – Ferenc Bene HUN 2 goals
1964 – Dezso Novak HUN 2 goals
1960 – Francios Heutte FRA 2 goals
1960 – Valentin Ivanov USSR 2 goals
1960 – Viktor Ponedeinik USSR 2 goals
1960 – Milan Galic YUG 2 goals
1960 – Jerkovic YUG 2 goals
1960 – Vincent FRA

Author: zaharibb

I am just a small blogger writing about sports, travel and lifestyle and turned into a social media influencer. Will undertake to accept write up invitations. to blog and to share on my social media platforms,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s atok vlog

ekspresi, persepsi dan pandangan expression, perception and views

A Muslim Traveller

Experiences of a Muslim traveller across cultures

zb internet marketing

passive income way to financial freedom

Travel & Liking

With Alex KHOO

Flat Tires and Slow Boats

A Chronicle of Traveling in no Particular Hurry

Just Visit Siena !

My Siena Guide

%d bloggers like this: